A work in progress

Good Morning Readers!

I am feeling guilty for not posting anything for a while again, so today, even though I don’t have, what I call an official post ready to go, I at least want to check in.

First, I AM working on a post….have been for several days now.  I was reminded this morning of something I used to practice back when I was preparing for a meeting and that was, don’t be guilty of just wanting to find something to say.  Whenever I did that, it was a flat message that impressed no one, not to mention fed and/or inspired anyone.  Ugh.  There was nothing worse than delivering those kind of messages except having to listen to those kind of messages!  Instead, I wanted a message that first of all truly inspired and excited me because then I knew it had potential of possibly doing that for others.

This blog post I am working on now has developed into something with more layers than I anticipated.  It’s really got me to thinking.  Plus, I started reading a new book this week that is challenging my thinking on a whole new level.  I have scratched sentences and even paragraphs from the post I’m working on and then had to just sit with what I’ve written for long stretches of time before writing anything additional.

I have said before, and I will say it again, I constantly demand more of myself so that I do not just live on the surface of life but go deeper, and my writing must reflect that also.  A life-changing verse for me years ago was, and still remains to be, Romans 11:33

” O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!”

There is no end to Him so I have no excuse but to keep changing, evolving and growing.  To constantly challenge the status quo.  To want more of Him.  I have become aware that I have been stuck spiritually and so I needed this jolt.  Thank you, Sherlene for recommending “Falling Upward” by Richard Rohr.  I am going to be pondering that book for a good long while.  I am also just starting another new book, “Leaving the Church” by Barbara Brown Taylor.  It is about her journey of leaving the priesthood after serving there for many years.

Sherlene asked me recently what gets me excited and my response in part was, “A new book!”  The other part of my answer was WRITING!

So, I will keep reading and keep writing  and we will journey together!

 

3 thoughts on “A work in progress

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the challenges and value of effective writing, Darla. It certainly resonates well with me, not because I know much about it, but because I recognize the value of good writing and appreciate those who share their knowledge, experiences and thoughts well in that form. Without effective writers, readers would be hopeless. I am glad that you take whatever time is necessary for Spirit-led meditation and post writing.

    My limited personal experience with written exchanges of spiritual insights has been very positive and helpful. To me, the greatest benefit of receiving written content is the ability to read it enough times (usually not at the same time) to let the authors’ meaning sink in. Perhaps my reading comprehension skills are weaker than most, but I agree that the meaning of Scripture and other spiritual writings usually goes much deeper than the surface of the text (“more layers” as you have said).

    I have discovered a wonderful (to me) analogy to “deeper spiritual meaning” in the three books entitled “Now you see it, now you don’t!”. Each book has a series of colorful, repetitive patterns that “hide” a three-dimensional image which is completely unrelated to the visible surface patterns. Only by focusing my eyes deeper, beyond the surface of the page, can I allow the hidden 3-D image to suddenly materialize. It was there all along, but I couldn’t see it until I changed my focus. I wonder if that’s part of what John meant when he said he was “in the spirit” when he received his stunning revelation from the Lord?

    I also agree that the great value in authoring/writing spiritual content is that it forces us to dig, search and meditate. The world is full of critics, but there are far fewer authors. It’s easy to decide what we like and don’t like about what others share (especially on social media) but not so easy to create meaningful content ourselves.

    So, please keep writing and don’t feel pressure to “crank out” posts because we know it will be worth the wait whenever they appear. That’s certainly been our experience in the past!

    Like

    • Dennis or Jane,

      Just not sure who wrote that comment BUT it was wonderful and you ARE a writer whether you know it or not! You shared some wonderful truths and also some encouragement. You might be glad to know that I am going to be releasing a new post in just a few minutes! Thank you for being patient.

      Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

