The Treasures of Darkness

All throughout last summer the Lord opened up verse after verse to me about Light, the Day, walking in the light, the glory of the day etc. It was amazing and I will come back to those verses for years. A few days ago, He surprised me by bringing to remembrance Isaiah 45:3.

I will give you treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, who summons you by name.”

Let me back up a bit. I don’t like the nights; I don’t remember if I ever have. They are worse for me now than they ever have because I sleep so poorly and they seem to drag on forever. But more than not liking nights, I don’t like darkness. The only place I want to be when it is dark is inside where I feel safe. We recently passed the shortest day of the year and I am SO glad because after that, the days slowly begin to get longer again. Right now, where I live, we have 15 hours of darkness every day. I used to work with a gal who loves the nights; she takes walks in her neighborhood in the evenings and spends an hour every night outside just gazing at the night sky. I do like to go out on my balcony at nights for a few minutes and gaze at the night heavens. It is beautiful and I often pray out there.

But treasures in the darkness? What does that mean? I wrote in my journal on November 29th of this year after reading that verse again, “Father, this winter, beginning now please, I pray You, show me the treasures of darkness in my life, in my world, my reality. Show me the riches stored in those SECRET PLACES of your heart. Your Word and even in my heart, my experiences and my current life I know there are corners in my heart I haven’t brought to the Light.”

Right now the sun is shining gloriously outside in the bitter cold but in a few short hours it will be dark again. I have this vision of me walking through the darkness in my own soul and heart with God (it’s simply too terrifying otherwise) and making it a writing challenge. Writing about confronting my issues with food, with God, with going deep, with being truly quiet, with not writing like I used to. About money, retirement, housing. About church. All of it. SO THAT I can find those riches stored in secret places that only God can reveal. All I’m currently seeing is the darkness. I’m not seeing the possible treasures in the darkness or the Lord who has summoned me (even now) by name. But I need to. I want to, I can’t wait to, and then by the time spring comes, I will be experiencing a Resurrection within like NEVER BEFORE!!

Praise You Father for giving me this Gift this morning. This HOPE. This PROMISE. This EXPECTATION. This DREAM. I needed it so much.

6 thoughts on “The Treasures of Darkness

  1. Just want to wish all a better New Year!
    2015 is history now….
    I woke up today with the song ‘Give thanks with a grateful heart’ by Don Moen…..( went to a praise and worship concert last night)..it was refreshing….
    In spite of our situations….we can still be thankful for what we DO have….for life….good health …the small things….
    We have a God who is trustworthy……and nothing is too hard for Him…….
    Jesus is saying…Peace be still…I am here….
    With God all things are possible….We have to believe!

    Like

  2. I don’t know if I’m right or not but I just want to share what I think of as treasures of darkness. The scripture you mentioned seems to me to be God saying that He will free us from the things we have been in bondage to. After we are free, we will have treasure from that experience. We will have fruit to enjoy and to share, that God produced in our heart that is a result of the experience. It will glorify Him and help others. Maybe others have more to share about this but this is how it spoke to me. I hope you are enjoying the season!

    Like

  3. Darla, I was curious about this topic so I read Isaiah 45 to try to understand what these treasures of darkness were….I think the 1st and 2nd verses are important …..the whole chapter actually…..The Lord was saying to His anointed…in this case Cyrus……I will open the gates and the gates shall not be shut….I will go before you, and make the crooked places straight….I will break in pieces the gates of brass and cut in sunder the bars of iron ….and. I will give thee the treasures of darkness and hidden riches of secret places……in other words it is like a “break and enter”….so that he will have access to these treasures of darkness ( most treasures are hidden in darkness….because they are not easily accessible)…… In other words God will make a way, even though we cannot or may not understand how…..to reveal to us or make available to us these ‘treasures’……they could be blessings also….so we may know that He is THE LORD, THE GOD of Israel, who has called us by name…..in other words nothing or no-one can stay His Hand!……
    Verse 4…..for Jacob my servant’s sake ,and Israel mine elect!……I have even called thee by thy name…..I have surnamed thee…though thou hast not known me
    Verse 5,,,,I am The Lord and there is none else…there is no God beside me..I girded thee,though thou hast not known me
    Verse 6…..that they may know from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is none beside me…I am The Lord, and there is none else…..
    I thought about what the angel said to Elizabeth….there shall be a performance of those things that The Lord said to her….
    Verse 9… Shall the clay say to Him that fashioneth it, ….what makest Thou? or thy work,He hath no hands?
    These are the blessings of The Lord….upon those He has blessed….

    Like

  4. Thank you Darla with tears running down my face, thank you. Your words are in my heart but I can’t write my thoughts easily. I too am afraid of the dark, working on finding the light, it has been a long process. Not there yet, may be more confused than I’ve been for what I believe or don’t believe.

    Like

    • Sam,
      It was a long process for me to figure out what was truly Scriptural and of God and what wasn’t. But I prayed desperately that God would not let me be deceived, and since I knew my motive in that was 100% pure, I chose to believe He wouldn’t let me be deceived. You have to get to the place where you find out what is truth from God Himself and from His Word. Not anyone else. Then, you will have peace. Light will always overcome Darkness. Remember that.

      Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

