Blessed are they that mourn for they shall be comforted

Last night at about 2:00 a.m. (I woke up and could not get back to sleep), I was thinking about some of the personal emails and texts that I had received after yesterday’s post about convention.  Suddenly God reminded me of His wonderful words, “Blessed are they that mourn for they shall be comforted.”  I got up and added that verse to the very end of that previous post, even though few would ever read it at this point.  But God had given it to me not just to write about but also to remember.  So, I prayed then for His comfort to come in to that loss; into that area where I still mourn once a year.

Afterwards, my thoughts turned to the wonderful promise and power contained in those words.  Hebrews 10:23 says, “For He who promised is faithful…” and 2 Peter 3:9 says, “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promises.”

I thought about my readers who are not just frustrated with the meeting fellowship but have received a God-given revelation of how some things are just wrong, period; not according to Scripture.  You are perhaps finding it harder and harder to go to meetings because there is this ever widening gap between what is taught and believed and what you now believe.  You want more than what the group embraces.  You want more of God but hardly know what that will look like. You want more of Jesus. You want deeper and more relevant fellowship than what you have been experiencing.  You want to be around people who are open about their walk with God and know He’s very much involved in all of their life.  You are asking God the difficult and scary questions for the first time and the answers are exciting and terrifying.  You want to make a decision to leave and yet when you start to count the cost of that decision, you just can’t.  It will just be too hard, too lonely, and it will hurt too many people.

It is at this very point where Jesus begs you to step fully into His arms and into His words when He said, with all his heart and passion (I don’t believe he just recited those words in a flat-lined, rote voice), “Blessed are you when you mourn because you will be comforted.”

Comforted by the God of Heaven, by Jesus Himself, by The Comforter the Holy Spirit.  That, my friends, is Comfort like you have never known before.  Not even close.  That is comfort better than your spouse, your best friend, the workers or anyone else in your life can give.  Than anything in your life can give.

Jesus was making a promise that day He 100% intended to keep.

When was the last time, in your fears or in your pain that you fell into His comfort rather than just reverting instead to your comfort zone where things feel comfortable and familiar and you told yourself that because it feels so comfortable and familiar, it must then be the place God wants you.  You chose your comfort instead of His.  Trust me, I have done it and I still do at times.

I think we don’t grasp what His comfort is going to be like.  It is NOT going to feel like correction, or like a scratchy blanket.  It is NOT going to feel awkward.  It is NOT something you have to “act as if” you’ve experienced.  It will be real.  It will be palatable.  It will be felt.  It will settle on you and around you as the softest thing you have ever felt. The words you need to hear will be right there.

This kind of comfort will also extend into all areas of life where there are losses. We choose other comforts because we don’t understand and/or grasp how much better and more real His comfort is. 2 Corinthians 1:3-5 says He “is the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles…for just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comforts overflow.” Paul writes about God’s promises and how they are not wishy-washy; they are not Yes and then sometimes No but “In Him they have always been yes. For no matter how many promises God has made, they are Yes in Christ. (V19-20).  In other words, He intends to keep them all.

I have not let Him comfort me countless times because I wanted another kind of comfort.  I assumed His wouldn’t be enough.  Oh Father, forgive me for thinking like that!

Lord, I believe, help my unbelief! Help me believe that you will comfort me whenever I make a costly choice to follow You instead of this world or instead of others or instead of my own will.

3 thoughts on “Blessed are they that mourn for they shall be comforted

  1. I am so thankful that the arm of the Lord is not short. He can comfort us with comfort that is so all encompassing. I know He comforted you because He loves you like no one else can but also I think He comforted you because you are right where He wants you to be. I have yearned and prayed for His leading in my life for selfish reasons because I know He has my best at heart. However, just in the past few months I honestly yearned for His leading so that I cud glorify Him! I dont know just when the change happened and there isnt anything in me that would glorify Him but He can do the work that will make it happen. Exciting to think about!

    Like

  2. Yes! Our experience was that it was very searching and scary to leave, until we took it to the place of prayer. What I was really afraid of was losing guidance of Holy Spirit. It was revealed to me in prayer that God wants a personal relationship with each of us. It’s to Him that we cling. It’s Him that we worship. It’s because of Him that we have everything. That relationship isn’t dependent on an experience with a group. Once I had that clear direction from above, it became so much easier. It was no longer should I, what if, I wonder, or how about. The comfort, peace and rest that came from going wherever God would lead was incredible. Yes, there were experiences that were hard in leaving. God has been incredibly good to us in teaching and opening our eyes. I have learned so much and I’m so grateful for God bringing experiences that caused me to search. God has given us so much more than what was taken away!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some consider convention to be fellowship convention, that is a perspective that I had noticed but I had never heard anyone admit. I’ve been thinking on Ps. 62 this morning.

    Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

