Summer Reading List!

I had great summers as a kid.  My mom worked full time and she would line up some chores for me to do every day plus sign me up for lessons of various kinds: swimming, tennis, baton twirling.  I rode my bike a couple of miles during June in the early morning to pick strawberries. (I hated that job!)  Afternoon’s were spent either going back to the pool to swim, playing Barbie with neighbor girls, riding our bikes everywhere, playing board games in the shade under a tree, having lemonade stands, climbing trees to eat cherries, making homemade perfume and trying to sell that, building forts of all kinds, playing office (mom would bring home papers from her job and we would use those), playing school.  AND riding my bike to the Library and getting as many books as my basket would hold and then reading, reading, reading!  Comic books as well.

I’ve been noticing on a number of other blogs I read on a daily basis that they are announcing their Summer Reading Lists and so I thought I’d join in!  I don’t have the leisure to read hours upon end in the summer like I did as a kid because I now have a full time job, but I am purposing to free up my weekends more and turn off the TV more and read.  Sitting outside with a glass of iced tea or lemonade or inside on the sofa if it is too hot to be outside reading a good book; it simply doesn’t get any better than that IMO.

This past year I have delighted myself by establishing some new traditions for various seasons of the year.  It has been such fun.  Some are silly and others are more meaningful.  So, my new one for summer now is to each year create my very own Summer Reading List.

Why am I telling you all of this? I want to share a little more of my real day-to-day life with my readers.  I use quotes, thoughts and inspirations from these books for my blog posts and for my own personal growth.  I want my readers to understand how life can be after meetings.  The new communities that can be established, the new rituals and traditions that can be created, the different ways we can spend our quiet time.  There no longer is a cookie cutter way of living, dressing, behaving, worshipping, and ministering to the Lord.  There are so many possibilities that await us outside of the meeting system; ways to glorify God that we never dreamed of before.

So, without further ado, here is my summer reading list.

A Million Little Ways by Emily J. Freeman

Soul Keeping by John Ortberg

On Writing by Stephen King

Finding Spiritual Whitespace by Bonnie Gray

Pastrix by Nadia Bolz-Weber

The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne

Manage Your Day-To-Day by Jocelyn K. Glei  and 99U

2000 to 10,000 – How to write faster, write better and write more of what you love by Rachel Aaron

Knowing me, I will keep adding to the list!

Anyone out there got their summer (or winter for my Australia and New Zealand readers) reading lists made?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading List!

  1. I have really appreciated books by Wayne Jacobsen in helping me transition. He Loves Me! was especially helpful, but all of his that I’ve read so far are really good. I am enjoying The Way of Agape: Understanding God’s Love by Chuck and Nancy Missler. I’m also enjoying some of Max Lucado’s writing. Praying Through the Tabernacle by Jon Courson was good and a quick read. I have so many books I want to read that I just don’t have time to go to work, and so far the boss isn’t very cooperative with that idea! 🙂 Putting Jesus in His Place: The Case for the Deity of Christ is another one on my list. Breaking Free by Beth Moore has been really helpful too.

    Like

  2. Would you consider making a list of books you’ve read that have helped you during your journey? Reader’s reading interests are different yet your journey is the one being read about and what you have read probably had an influence on your journey. I appreciate the times you have referenced a book by title in your posts.

    Like

  3. May I suggest:
    “Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus” by Nabeel Qureshi
    Many from the 2×2 tradition will find similarities between his legalistic Islam upbringing and
    their own experience growing up in the 2×2’s. This is the most readable book on Islam that I
    have read to date and I feel we do need to be familiar with the other main religion that
    claims Abraham as its father so we can open dialog and develop relationships with the
    Muslims that God has brought among us.

    “The Forever Fix” by Ricki Lewis
    OK, I’m a science geek but this book published in 2012 by a famed geneticist who
    writes about science in language suitable for anyone, has captured the story of Gene Therapy
    that will fascinate anyone interested in the future of medicine. It tells the story of a 10 year
    old boy who receives sight as a result of one of the first successful gene therapy surgeries
    and the 20 plus years of history leading up to that milestone. Each case history reveals
    the trials and setbacks from the first attempts at “fixing” mutant genetic material. I promise
    this is not a boring book and you will be enlightened about genetic research that may even
    help you in the near future, especially the chapter about the research on macular
    degeneration.
    Just thought I’d add a little variety to the list.

    Like

    • My reading list was just that…my reading list! I’m certainly not suggesting it become anyone else’s reading list. Just reading your suggestions and what has been on your reading list assures me how vastly different our preferences are and how cool is that!

      Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

