Passion Week

Today is Palm Sunday; the Sunday before Easter and is the start of what the Christian community calls Passion Week. It is a BIG DEAL! In the meetings, Easter is not celebrated as a religious holiday, but for me, one of the things I was most excited about when leaving the meetings was getting to celebrate Easter. I could not wait to celebrate corporately the resurrection of Jesus. And I was not disappointed.

I want to share a link from my church I think may be helpful for some of my readers who are not accustomed to celebrating and/or even acknowledging Passion week. They have put together a Passion Week Devotional Guide that begins today. For me, just taking the time in a more concentrated way to enter into Jesus’ feelings this week is very powerful. I want to encourage my readers to check it out. Here is the link:

Passion Week Devotional Guide

Today there will be a Palm Sunday services. Thursday I plan to attend the Maundy Thursday service, and Friday the Good Friday service and of course, the service on Easter itself. I just want to immerse myself in this week and let God speak to me in any way He chooses to this week. I know I will not be disappointed.

“Jesus, this week is all about You. I know every week is all about You but this week may we focus much more intently on You. It’s the least we can do.”

3 thoughts on “Passion Week

  1. The Good Friday service at our church is amazing. It is a quiet, reverent service. Last year was my first time to attend the service. The last several minutes are indescribable. The lights are completely turned off and we sit in silence for several minutes. Then one light is slowly turned on the cross, which is hewn from 200 year-old wood and hangs above the choir loft amongst the organ pipes. It is the most amazing feeling to bring your whole conscienceness into focus on Christ as you contemplate His Passion. I am getting chills just thinking about it. Please pray for us as we have a couple from meeting who are going to attend with us. They are close to leaving meetings and this service should really affect them.

    Like

    • Ted, Easter has become my favorite holiday since learning how to really appreciate Holy Week. Our Good Friday service is also with muted lighting and solemnity. We have a large rough wooden cross that in brought in and balanced on the steps of the pulpit area. We are given a little piece of paper when we arrive and during a reflective time during the service we silently ask forgiveness for confessed sins and then in total silence at the end of the service everyone files by the cross and places their paper onto one of the nails on the cross. All then exit the church in total silence. Many of us are so moved that there are tears and some gather together outside the church for prayer together. On Easter Sunday the cross is on the front steps of the church, papers with confessed sins gone and now the cross has wire mesh around it for all to bring flowers and place within the mesh. By the time we leave the service the cross is completely covered with flowers. Are there those present that just come to church 2-3 times a year? Absolutely but there are those of us that are regularly found in congregational worship every week as we lift each other up and praise our Lord and Savior. Have a wonderful Easter everyone. Thank you Darla for starting this blog.

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the link to the devotional – I’m going to check it out today. I am just becoming more aware of how truly significant it is to focus on the time leading up to and surrounding Jesus’s crucifixion. We’re studying Matthew in Bible Study Fellowship, and reached the Passover feast this past week. It lines up perfectly, and I love seeing it all from a fresh perspective.

    Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

