Thanksgiving is here!

In the U.S., this Thursday we celebrate Thanksgiving and I think it is truly one of our favorite holidays.  It is centered around an abundance of food!  Yeah!  Friends and family, watching football, reading the Black Friday ads, the Macy’s parade, afternoon walks in the crisp Fall outdoors, and eating again.

It is about sitting down to a beautifully decorated and set table ( a MUST for me).  Then, someone giving an eloquent, heartfelt and rich prayer of thanks before the meal is eaten.  Not to impress but to convey the true spirit of the day.

Since leaving the fellowship, I have become fanatical about the prayer before the Thanksgiving meal.  No longer can I bear the rote meal prayers I heard all my life or worse yet, singing a grace for the meal. (This did happen a couple of years ago. I was with some of friends that day and the man of the home said as we bowed our heads, “Shall we sing ‘For this Food’?”  What was he thinking? It was terrible!  I was horrified and could not sing a note.)  The day is supposed to be centered around Thankfulness and we sang a grace we had sung all our lives and has long since lost its meaning and who even thinks about the words any more?  Obviously this is just my opinion and I don’t think his request bothered anyone else at the table but me.

I so want to embrace the spirit of these holidays now and I don’t want to miss a single thing in them.  I don’t want to hurry through the grace just so we can eat.  I don’t want to hurry through the meal just so we can go crash in the living room.  I want to savor every single moment.

This Thanksgiving holiday for me was supposed to be spent out of town with a special friend and his family.  Sadly, this is no longer happening. Instead I will be spending this 4 day weekend with two of my dearest fiends and their husbands and it will be wonderful.

I love what I read this morning in one of my devotionals about being thankful.

“Thanksgiving takes the sting out of adversity. That is why I have instructed you to give thanks for everything. There is an element of mystery in this  transaction: You give Me thanks (regardless of your feelings), and I give you Joy (regardless of your circumstances). Thankfulness opens your heart to My Presence and your mind to My thoughts.  You may still be in the same place, with the same set of circumstances, but it is as if a light has been switched on, enabling you to see from My perspective.”
From Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

I do have so much to be thankful for and I pray you, my readers, do also.  God Bless!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving is here!

  1. Even though I am not an American and celebrate all things American…I have always LOVED your Thanksgiving day. It’s just the whole meaning and thought behind it…being thankful! I would love to see every country have a Thanksgiving day!!!! Of course, whoever desires to be thankful everyday for what they have, never gets tired of celebrating thanks, but for it to be a national day, and especially a holiday, brings a huge awareness for all. We hardly ever sing grace anymore in our family. Something that is set in place as habit and then worn as a second skin….has the great danger of becoming nothing except a dead ritual. Instead, we SAY grace, and the children whatever their age all take part. We love their simple thanks, “Dear God, please look after the starving children in Africa…”, and “Dear God, thank you for a beautiful day and the food we eat, and we hope we have another one…”….they are spoken in the moment, impromptu, and always beautiful to hear. Also I absolutely LOVE what you have shared from Sarah Young. What absolutely beautiful words and Truth!!!! Enjoy your wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

    Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

