Praising God In the Storm

I was in a major spiritual and emotional storm this weekend; the kind that left me crying for 6 hours Saturday night because my heart was broken (not because of hormones!)  and only getting 3 1/2 hours sleep.  The song “Praise You in this Storm” by Casting Crowns came to mind in the midst of it all:

I was sure by now 
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

Chorus:
I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
Every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry
You raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find You

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

Chorus:

(2x’s)
I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The maker of Heaven and Earth

As I tried to do just that …. praise Him in the storm….oh my, was it ever hard.  Very hard.  I didn’t reach that point until the next afternoon.  It helped me breathe.  It has continued to help me breathe.  Not breathing is dangerous; physically and spiritually.  It is supposed to be an unconscious act but it is a very conscious act right now.

It is helping.  And I continue to praise Him when nothing makes sense.

5 thoughts on “Praising God In the Storm

  1. I love this song. It is so good for us to remember when we are going through pain that God feels the pain too. I keep thinking of the time Jesus wept when Mary and Martha had lost their brother. We’ve heard he was weeping at their lack of belief and although we don’t know, it does seem that he was weeping at their grief. They were dear friends of his and that is how friends respond.

    Another Hymn What a Friend We Have in Jesus came to mind when I felt your pain. Darling, He knows the depth of your grief, He also knows how to heal it. It’s ok to grieve, to cry, to hurt. Eventually it will pass and God will bring you joy again.

    I lift you up to our Creator, the Lover of our Souls while I mourne with you.

    I love you.

    Like

  2. Darla – I know your heart and the beauty of your soul. You are NOT alone and I know that God is carrying you right now. This too shall pass – and the best is yet to come. Your heart is broken OPEN – which leaves you ready for all that God has planned to bring you JOY and COMPLETE FULLFILLMENT without settling for anything less than HIS BEST! As our Heavenly Father works…..I found it interesting that in the one I read daily – that was a gift from YOU – it said “My Face is shining upon you, in rays of PEACE TRANSCENDING UNDERSTANDING”. It went on to say……”When you are around other people, you tend to cater to their expectations – REAL or IMAGINED. Your efforts to win their approval eventually exhaust you. THIS IS NOT MY WAY FOR YOU! Let My Spirit give you words of grace as you live in the Light of My Peace”. Your friends – including me, my Dear Friend, are with you. I pray that while your heart is broken open you will reach out for all that God has put in your heart………..and make it REAL! I love you wholeheartedly and admire your Grace, your Wisdom and you Courage to keep growing and learning. KEEP ON KEEPING ON!!! XOXO

    Like

    • Thank you my dear dear friend. It’s 2:30 in the morning and I am awake. The nights are the hardest of course but your words area comfort and I will take them back to bed and let them bring me peace.

      Like

  3. Casting Crowns is always a “pick-me-up” go-to band for me. I also like Third Day’s song “Revelation”.
    http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/thirdday/revelation.html
    Isn’t is great that we can share our struggles with those not afraid of embracing Jesus in the “everyday and the mundane” as Matt Redman sings in his new song about grace. Letting us know that you need our prayers if refreshing. Consider it done.

    Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

