Two defining moments

I recently recalled two defining moments in my spiritual journey. Both took place at convention while I was still in the Work.

One was spoken by an esteemed older brother worker who proclaimed, “There are no Pharisees among us.” I immediately went to Matthew 23 in my thoughts and ran down that list and found myself time and time again guilty as charged. I knew right then and there that I was a Pharisee. Once I knew that fact, it changed how I viewed everything. I saw my own self-righteousness, my pride, my blindness. And I saw other fellow Pharisee’s. The group was no longer “pure” in my mind. However, possessing this knowledge answered some questions though. It made sense why the focus of the group was on outward things and rules were ever increasing, why grace was ignored, why appearance was everything, why some things were so harsh and not at all like Jesus. It made sense why at times I was so unhappy and judgmental.

The other defining moment was when a middle aged brother closed the convention in prayer. He did not have the last meeting nor even speak in it; and he wasn’t sitting on the platform. All of those things made it so unusual for him to be asked to close the convention in prayer. It was of God! The final spoken prayer carries a lot of weight. This brother said something I had never heard before in a prayer; he was telling God thanks for the convention and then he said, “Jesus, we have fallen in love with you more than ever before here.” That phrase caused my heart to leap with joy and I said a loud amen within. I loved what he had expressed. From that moment forward everything about my life, my service, my work, and my focus was all about Jesus. All about Jesus.

Thank You, Jesus, for every defining moment that has turned us more towards You and more away from ourselves.

3 thoughts on “Two defining moments

  1. Thank you Darla for your two defining moments. When we have them they are truly like a light being switched on inside of us!! Your two reminded me instantly of the parable of the pharisee and the publican! It’s heartening to hear Truth spoken, and know that it WILL still be spoken, as a light that dispels darkness, for it has the power that darkness does NOT. This Truth dwells in a few hearts among many, and it doesn’t look for attention or crow loudly. It just lives and speaks quietly and beautifully and reaches others that are ready for the work of the heart.

    Like

  2. Darla,

    “No Pharisees among us…” comment? Amazing, simply amazing statement to make! John Fischer’s book—-all we have to do to know what a Pharisee looks like is go to the mirror! But I am afraid that attitude is quite commonplace within the group. The mental picture I have is of someone squeezing their eyes shut while using their fingers to stop their ears. (i.e. “If I don’t see it/hear it, it doesn’t exist!”) Talk about “Eyes wide shut”. How thankful I am for the day I realized what a miserable wretch I was (and still am at times) and then began to understand a little of the Amazing Grace that saved a wretch like me. And realized that “I AM like other men.” We heard a wonderful message this morning that included the statement, “The Grace in Jesus exceeds the sin in me….” And when I focus on Jesus, really focus on Him, I have absolutely nothing to boast of in myself. Our only boast can be of Christ our Lord, Him Crucified…..and that our names are written in Heaven because of Him. Thanks be to God!

    Like

    • But those who wish to boast should boast in this alone: that they truly know me and understand that I am the Lord who demonstrates unfailing love and who brings justice and righteousness to the earth, and that I delight in these things. I, the Lord, have spoken! (Jeremiah 9:24 NLT)

      So so thankful that we are free to boast that we intimately know the God of all creation!!! Wow! What privilege! What honor! He is in control of all, and we know Him!! …..I stand in awe……

      Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

