As your days, so shall your strength be

I remember many years ago the overseer in Oregon quoting that verse from Duet 33:25 often and telling us that it doesn’t say “as your strength so shall your day be”. The NIV translation says, “Your strength will equal your days.”

The older I get, I’m much more aware of my strength or lack thereof; depending on the day, and how often I don’t live according to that verse. I give up or quit or cease working when the day requires more of me than I feel I can deliver because I assume my strength is gone. But according to this verse, it isn’t.

The rest of that passage reads:

25 The bolts of your gates will be iron and bronze,
and your strength will equal your days.
26 “There is no one like the God of Jeshurun,
who rides across the heavens to help you
and on the clouds in his majesty.
27 The eternal God is your refuge,
and underneath are the everlasting arms.
He will drive out your enemies before you,
saying, ‘Destroy them!’
28 So Israel will live in safety;
Jacob will dwell[a] secure
in a land of grain and new wine,
where the heavens drop dew.
29 Blessed are you, Israel!
Who is like you,
a people saved by the LORD?
He is your shield and helper
and your glorious sword.
Your enemies will cower before you,
and you will tread on their heights.”

Remember those verses in Isaiah 40:29 “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak…those who wait upon the Lord will renew their strength.”? I’m thankful I have proven that promise and it is not just a renewing of my spirit and my heart. He does that over and over and I need it over and over. He renews my inner strength to keep on going but I have also proven that when, in the middle or near the end of a really long and difficult day physically as well as perhaps spiritually, whenever I have stopped even for a moment and leaned upon God and leaned into those everlasting arms and asked for physical strength to accomplish the task at hand, he always has come through and provided the strength I needed. Always. Why? Because he said, “As your days, so shall your strength be.”

This is one more example of how very present and near He is in our day; in everything we are doing and how He wants to help us. How He wants to reassure us over and over that we are not alone and how our ‘natural’ lives matter a great deal to Him and how involved He can be in them.

There are so many beautiful promises in the Scripture about our strength and how the Lord will come through for us in that area. I would encourage you to go read those verses again and then lean into them and believe them. See for yourself how God comes through and see how He deals with your time management issues! Let Him renew your strength. It is so much better than all the vices we turn to for strength and stamina. He is 100% natural and the real deal! He is the original energy drink!!

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

