Pray believing

I’ve been struggling for the last week knowing what to write for the blog. Nothing felt inspired. So, this morning I asked myself, “What has God been working on in my life lately?” This post is the answer to that.

I had a birthday this past weekend and one thing I do on my birthday is go back and read my journal entry from the previous birthday. What I wrote a year ago was amazing to me now. I am not going to quote from that journal entry but it comprised of thanking God for another year of life, for His mercy, faithfulness, patience, forgiveness and love in the past year. Then, I specifically asked for a couple of things in my life that I truly needed and quoted that line from a hymn, “ALL the yearnings of my heart WILL one day come to pass.” (emphasis mine) I wrote that in faith and in belief. And then, I went on with my life and pretty much forgot about what I had written.

When I re-read those entries on Sunday, I was blown away how God had answered every part of my prayer from a year ago. Jesus said in Matthew 21:22 “And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.” He also said in Matthew 17:20 He replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

If I really believe I will receive what I pray for, I will immediately begin to live as if it has been answered. Whoa! That takes faith and trust!

Yes, I pray that His will would always be done and answering my prayers exactly as I requested may not be in His will. So what then? I still believe He will answer it as I prayed for it and then when He reveals His will and it is different, I 100% accept it.

Praying with confidence is what I’ve been commanded to do. I can come with boldness unto the throne of grace. It is not arrogance or being presumptuous. The Word has given me permission to believe and trust God completely.

We can ask for mountains to be removed. Mountains are not small things. We receive little because we ask for little, James said. So, we can ask for BIG things. God can handle it. He loves to give good gifts unto His children. If we are asking for things or money and we purpose with all our hearts to use those gifts or that money all to His glory, it is totally ok to ask for it. We can ask for someone to come into our lives; He will know exactly who to send and when to send them. We can ask for spiritual things. He just wants to hear from us, He wants to know we trust Him and believe in Him for everything. No doubting anymore. No ‘what if’s’ or ‘buts’.

Let’s start asking, believing, trusting, and then experiencing answered prayers. I guarantee it will increase your faith!

4 thoughts on “Pray believing

  1. I have made a conscious effort to not dwell on the past because of the negativity we so often carry from it. However, I have been illuminated many times about prayers that have been answered. Some, long after I had forgotten the prayer. Thank you, Darla, for pointing out how answered prayers, prayed in faith, actually increase our faith. Watching prayers being answered for others also increases my faith.

    Like

  2. Thanks Darla, we recently heard a sermon from Rick Warren who was asked, “what do you attribute the incredible growth of your church to”? He said prayer and the fact that he prayed for this – he expected it to happen. Expected fully because it was in the Will of our God. Beautiful. We can expect prayers in His will to be answered….every time…

    Like

  3. Fantastic post!! Love the content, and really loved the thought about reading your journal from the last birthday! Its like a photo of yourself every year on your birthday! What you wrote, your thanks and prayers, was a picture of where you were on that day. Every year we grow and change… And don’t realise how much until we look back!
    Thanks you very much for sharing. Very inspiring!

    Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

