Asking, Seeking and Knocking

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” Matthew 7:7-11

I don’t remember exactly when I started looking at those verses differently or when they personally came alive. I had heard those verses preached on my whole life and am sure I preached about them myself. They were great for a Gospel meeting because they were for strangers, right?

Jesus was talking to a mixed crowd that day and according to Matthew 5:1 it was mostly his disciples who were listening. Believers! He was telling them to ask, seek and knock and they had already found Him! Romans 11:33 KJV speaks of the depth of God.

“O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!”

So, there will never be an end to discovering all there is to know and discover about Him!

Lately, I’ve been so aware how small I made God most of my life because I was only ever introduced to a very small God. I assumed that was all there was. However, God wants me to ALWAYS ask, seek and knock because He WANTS to reveal more and more of Himself to me and to all of us.

We can ask for more and more of Him. We can tell Him we are not satisfied any longer with the status quo, with rote prayers and rote fellowship with Him or with one another. We can tell Him that shallow living, praying and loving isn’t cutting it anymore. We can ask for blessings. He WANTS to give His children good gifts. We don’t ever need to rationalize that part of that verse away ever again. Instead we can just believe and accept His gifts for the immense blessings they are. We can ask for more and more of Him and it will be ok because it will be what God has been waiting to hear from us our whole lives.

We can seek for truth; for answers to all our difficult questions. All of them. We can seek for hidden treasures. For clarity. For peace. For satisfaction. For love. We don’t ever need to fear asking God for anything. NOTHING is too big for Him or too hard for Him.

We can knock on all the doors pertaining to God and the yearnings of our heart. Doors of possibilities we perhaps gave up on years ago. Doors of opportunities we were before too afraid to walk through, but now, because of His perfect love casting out all fear, we can step over thresholds we have always wanted to but were too terrified. We can knock on doors of service that we once convinced ourselves was only for others more talented or more gifted than ourselves.

We can knock on doors that man may have closed but God never did.

We can knock on doors that we always thought would never open to us for whatever reason.

I kept God so small but praise be to Him that He is showing me more every day how great He truly is. How He is everywhere at all times. How He breathed life into my soul and His Holy Spirit lives in me because I asked Jesus to come live within me.

What did James say (James 4:2)?

“You do not have, because you do not ask God.”

It’s that simple. That true. I was always taught that it was presumptuous and too bold to ask anything great from God or anything ‘natural’. But James says we can if our motive is right. (v3)

Jesus said to pray believing. Matthew 21:22

“If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

I always heard there was a huge exception clause attached to that verse and that Jesus did not mean that literally.

But I have proven that He did mean it literally. There is no distinction between asking for something ‘spiritual’ and something ‘natural’. They simply cannot be separated in my mind anymore. If my motive for whatever I am asking for is to ultimately glorify Him, I can ask for anything. We do not ever need to place limits on God anymore.

When Jesus said those words that day and Matthew was sitting there listening with his entire being (so that later the Holy Spirit could and would remind him of every word Jesus said), Jesus was inviting every listener and every reader into everything that is God and everything that adds love, depth, beauty and meaning to life. He was giving all of humanity the invitation of all invitations because He knew that if we would accept His invitation we would HAVE IT ALL. We would then be in the place to receive ALL THE FULLNESS of Him.

Ephesians 1:23

“The fullness of him who fills everything in every way.”

The fullness of Him filling the emptiness in us. Every spiritual, emotional and physical emptiness is filled by His fullness. It simply cannot get any better than that. Forever in this life, keep asking, seeking and knocking.

4 thoughts on “Asking, Seeking and Knocking

  1. Amen and Amen Darla, and anything else or less is only religion.

    I love how Matt 7:7 reads in the Greek text literally…
    “ASK AND KEEP ON ASKING, SEEK AND KEEP ON SEEKING, KNOCK AND KEEP ON KNOCKING”

    Like

  2. This is a truly beautiful and inspired post. Thank you for reminding all of us that God is limitless. It is our thinking that creates limits. I am glad that I am learning to be free of all that limits Him in any way. I am a seeker but I still have quite a way to go!

    Like

  3. Along the thought of asking and seeking, listen to this only recording left of C.S. Lewis reading one of his radio broadcasts in Britain during WWII(the compilation of those airings later became “Mere Christianity”). His exceptional visual imagery of how to become the man (person) intended when he created Adam boils down to seeking Him in everything so the transformation can occur. Fullness comes when we are with Him in spirit continually.

    http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/thabitianyabwile/2013/07/18/the-only-surviving-recording-of-c-s-lewis-bbc-radio-addresses-during-the-war/

    Your thoughts are continuing to mirror mine. I appreciate your being able to write them so expressively.

    Like

    • Wow, thanks for sharing that link! I thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed listening to such an intelligent man! Just loved the “time” part! It made me think of quote that says “In the beginning God created man, but then man created God”. It really lifts my heart when I listen or read something spiritual. That seeking for the spiritual with no fear. How beautiful and freeing it is.

      Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

