Praying in the Victorian Language

To expand on what I wrote in the previous post about the special language used in the meetings; “Thee’s & Thou’s, Thou mayest & Thy Will”.  I recalled hearing about an overseer talking to his staff right before convention and telling them he didn’t want to hear any “You and Your” language from their prayers in the convention.  Oh my!

It’s laughable now from my perspective.  Almost like being in a time warp!  By osmosis we were taught the special prayer language.  Why did we do that? Tradition? Was it more respectful or reverent? God looks at the heart and hears heartfelt prayers; not poetically correct prayers. So many (if not all) of the traditions of the fellowship over the years became doctrine.  Most of them were about what the people could or should do or in this case, say.  So little about what God could or would do;  or has already done.

Speaking in the old language certainly does nothing to draw others to the group; just the opposite.  It only makes the group more odd than real.  In fact, listening to other Christians pray was one of the most moving experiences I had in those early days.  They talked to God.  It was real, it was honest, it was heartfelt.  I wanted that.

When I started praying in my real life language, it immediately made a significant difference in my prayer life.  God was suddenly so approachable and so near.  I wanted to talk to Him.  I have a feeling that He was happy about that!

2 thoughts on “Praying in the Victorian Language

  1. Hi, It’s actually praying in Elizabethan English. Not a separate language, and not Victorian. Although I’m sure people know what you mean, the custom, as it exists, is to pray in the English of Shakespeare and the KJV Bible.

    Like

Your comment adds interest to the conversation

